NRA 2023: join our rail excellence celebrations

Entries are now open for RAIL’s National Rail Awards 2023, to recognise and reward initiatives demonstrating innovation and excellence across the railway.

The National Rail Awards celebrate the achievements and excellence of those on the front line, as well as effective safety triumphs, major engineering successes, and environmental sustainability.

This year’s ceremony takes place on September 14 at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London, and this year we welcome three new full-time judges.

Professor Andrew McNaughton, former Technical Director of HS2, will be joining the Major Projects panel and will chair the Infrastructure of the Year category.

Abi Broadley, a consultant advising small and medium-sized enterprises, joins the Outstanding Personal Contribution and the Great Place to Work panels.

Finally, Bill Free, Rail Director at the Civil Engineering Contractors Association (CECA), will sit on both Fleet Achievement of the Year and the Outstanding Teamwork Award panels.

All categories remain the same for 2023, but with one notable change to Station of the Year. Judges ask that a senior manager within the company signs off the final selection of stations you wish to enter, to avoid inappropriate entries. There are no changes to the criteria of the award itself.

RAIL Managing Editor and Events Director Nigel Harris will once again be joined on stage by BBC presenter (and regular NRA host) Huw Edwards (pictured) for the ‘Railway Oscars’.

Entries for this year’s National Rail Awards will close on March 24. For more information on how to enter, full criteria and judging information, or to enquire about booking tables, visit

You can subscribe for print/digital access via 

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

RAIL is Britain's market leading modern railway magazine.

Download the app

Related content