DfT awards franchise ‘Passports’

The Department for Transport has awarded 11 companies Pre-Qualification Questionnaire (PQQ) Passports, in an effort to make it easier and faster to bid for rail franchises.

The PQQ Passport removes the need to complete lengthy sections of franchise applications where the information required is identical. Companies now only need to complete it once. The Passport is valid for up to four years.

Rail Minister Claire Perry said: “The award of the PQQ Passports will not only benefit bidders, but taxpayers and customers, too. It will give applicants time and resources to improve their bids while reducing the administrative burden on the department. Simplifying this process will help open up the market to more bidders and improve competition on our railways.”

The companies awarded PQQ Passports are:

  • Abellio Transport Group
  • Arriva UK Trains
  • First Rail Holdings
  • Go-Ahead Holding
  • Govia
  • Keolis
  • MTR Corporation (UK)
  • National Express Trains
  • Stagecoach Group
  • Trenitalia
  • Virgin Holdings

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

RAIL is Britain's market leading modern railway magazine.

Download the app

Related content