HS2 announces Design Panel members

Independent Design Panel members have been announced, to support HS2 in applying the best design principles to the project.

The Panel will be chaired by Sadie Morgan, who will act as the project’s independent advisor, supported by 45 design experts.

“Our aim is to mentor and inspire HS2 to design a transformational railway system which will exceed all of our expectations,” she said.

“The British creative and engineering industry is already delivering outstanding examples of design excellence around the world. HS2 is a huge opportunity to bring that brilliance home.”

The group will contribute at regional site-specific panels such as at Birmingham Curzon Street station, to implement the principles behind HS2’s Design Vision (which was published in June).

Design Panel Members:

CHAIRMAN: Sadie Morgan, dRMM

  1. Paul Appleby, Sustainability Consultant
  2. Reuben Arnold, Senior Vice President, Marketing and Customer Experience, Virgin Atlantic Airways
  3. Hiro Aso, Head of Transport and Infrastructure, Gensler
  4. David Bonnett, Director, David Bonnett Associates
  5. Adam Brown, Partner, Landolt + Brown
  6. Patricia Brown, Director, Central
  7. Tony Burton CBE, Community and Sustainability Consultant
  8. James O’Callaghan, Director at Eckersley O’Callaghan
  9. Caroline Cole, Director, Colander Associates
  10. Annie Coombs, Landscape Architecture Consultant
  11. Nathalie De Vries, Director, MVRDV
  12. Dan Epstein, Director of Sustainability, Useful Simple Projects
  13. Daisy Froud, Community Consultation Consultant
  14. Richard George, Group Managing Director at Interfleet
  15. Johanna Gibbons, Partner, J&L Gibbons LLP
  16. Clive Grinyer, Customer Experience Director, Barclays
  17. Tom Holbrook, Director, 5th Studio
  18. Glenn Howells, Glenn Howells Architects
  19. Hanif Kara, Design Director and Co-founder at AKT-II
  20. David Kester, Principal, David Kester & Associates
  21. Martin Knight, Managing Director of Knight Architects
  22. Alister Kratt, Board Director, LDA Design
  23. Alistair Lenczner, Director, Expedition Engineering
  24. Mike Luddy, Managing Director, London Royal Docks
  25. Selina Mason, Board Director of LDA Design
  26. Peter Maxwell, Head of Design, LLDC
  27. Kathryn Moore, Professor of Landscape Architecture, Birmingham City University
  28. Marie Bak Mortensen, Head of Exhibitions, RIBA
  29. Lucy Musgrave, Director, Publica
  30. Greg Nugent, Co-Founder of Incorporated London
  31. Kevin Owens, Director, WilsonOwensOwens
  32. Tina Paillet, Head of UK and North America, Generali Real Estate
  33. Carol Patterson, Director, OMA
  34. Luke Pearson, Director, Pearson Lloyd
  35. Sam Richards, Head of Urban Integration at Crossrail
  36. Jonathan Sands OBE, Chairman of Elmwood
  37. Ann Sawyer, Principal of Access=Design
  38. Sir Nicholas Serota, Director of Tate Gallery
  39. Les Sparks OBE, Urban Design Consultant
  40. Martin Stockley, Engineering Chief, Moscow State Development
  41. Ben Terrett, Group Design Director at the Co-Operative Group
  42. Raymond Turner, Raymond Turner Associates
  43. Paul Watson, Principal of PRW Strategic Advice
  44. Simon Wright OBE, Programme Director, Crossrail
  45. Beatrix Young, Partner, Farrells

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

RAIL is Britain's market leading modern railway magazine.

Download the app

Related content